Mondo To Release John Carpenter’s THEY LIVE Soundtrack On Vinyl

Hey gang! Mondo’s Death Waltz Recording Company has announced the vinyl soundtrack release for John Carpenter‘s THEY LIVE that will be available on January 30th. Head inside for the details!

From the Press Release:

Austin, TX – Thursday, January 17, 2019 – Grab your sunglasses, your bubblegum, and your shotgun as Death Waltz Recording Company is bringing back John Carpenter and Alan Howarth’s brilliant score to They Live. The soundtrack will go on sale January 30, 2019 at 

A classic story of one man fighting for the freedom of the world with a great science fiction twist, the movie is full of amazing dialogue and also contains the greatest fistfight in the history of cinema. Like most of Carpenter’s films, They Live has an urban western feel to it, which is emphasised by the infectious score. 

Celebrated designer and artist Alan Hynes has crafted a spectacular collectible package for the soundtrack befitting the film’s theme of subliminal communication, utilizing the iconic sunglasses to reveal hidden messages as you pull the disc sleeve from the slip case. 

They Live is as relevant now as it was when it was first released in 1988, maybe even more so. We are thrilled to be re-issuing the soundtrack of this iconic and important film,” said Mondo & Death Waltz Recording Company’s Head of Music, Spencer Hickman. 

Carpenter and Howarth’s main theme conjures up images of a lone cowboy entering town, with the main melody augmented with the sounds of harmonica and saxophone. There’s a carefree attitude which reflects Rowdy Roddy Piper’s character, but the score takes on a more sinister tone when he realises he doesn’t know anything about what’s really going on. Carpenter’s signature synth tones create an uncomfortable atmosphere, but the main bassline is always fighting against them, never giving up. Electric guitar is used fleetingly, but brilliantly, and the whole score embodies the kind of rebelling against authority Carpenter is famous for. They Live will rock your world without the need for a Brazilian plastic surgeon to put you back together again. 

THE LIVE Soundtrack 

  • Re-mastered by Alan Howarth
  • Package design by Alan Hynes
  • Mondo webstore exclusives “Annihilation Of Consciousness” variant (Black & White Swirl) and “Formaldehyde Face” variant (Reverse Purple and Blue Splatter) on sale January 30, 2019 – Follow @MondoNews for exact timing.$35 


  • Prologue Broadcast
  • Coming To LA
  • A Message
  • The Siege Of Justiceville
  • Return To Church
  • All Out Of Bubblegum 


  • Back To The Street
  • Kidnapped
  • Transient Hotel
  • Underground
  • Wake Up 

Visit the Mondo official site & social handles for more information:


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

There are no comments, yet.

Why don’t you be the first? Come on, you know you want to!

Leave a Comment