DVD Review: Power Rangers Ninja Steel: The Complete Season

Power Rangers Ninja Steel is based on the Japanese Super Sentai series Shuriken Sentai Ninninger and stars William Shewfelt as Brody Romero/the Red Ninja Steel Ranger, Nico Greetham as Calvin Maxwell/the Yellow Ninja Steel Ranger, Zoe Robins as Hayley Foster/the White Ninja Steel Ranger, Peter Sudarso as Preston Tien/the Blue Ninja Steel Ranger, Chrysti Anne as Sarah Thompson/the Pink Ninja Steel Ranger, and Jordi Webber as Aiden Romero/Levi Weston/the Gold Ninja Steel Ranger.

Deep in space, Galvanax is the reigning champion of the most popular intergalactic game show in the universe, “Galaxy Warriors,” in which monsters battle to prove who is the mightiest warrior. Galvanax is determined to become invincible by controlling the mythical Ninja Nexus Prism, which contains six supernatural Ninja Power Stars. The only thing standing in his way is a new team of heroic teenage Power Rangers who possess it. The evil Galvanax sends his warrior contestants down to Earth to steal the Ninja Power Stars, where each epic battle against the Power Rangers is broadcast throughout the universe. Together, the Power Rangers must master their arsenal of Ninja Power Stars, Zords, and Megazords — each made of legendary Ninja Steel — in order to stop this evil threat and save Earth from destruction.

Power Rangers Ninja Steel takes place in the fictional city of Summer Cove and follows a new group of teenagers that finds the Ninja Nexus Prism. In the beginning, this mystical object contains the supernatural Ninja Nexus Star that had been separated into six different Ninja Power Stars by a master ninja during his battle with Galvanax. This power hungry alien is the reigning champion of Galaxy Warriors, an intergalactic reality game show where aliens battle to see who the mightiest warrior is. Galvanax wants the Ninja Power Stars (made from powerful Ninja Steel) for himself but standing in his way is the power of good. The ninja master also had two sons that ended up getting separated for ten years but they end up discovering who they are after they become Power Rangers.

What happens is, each teenager is able to retrieve a Ninja Star from the Ninja Nexus Prism and this turns them into the new team of Power Rangers and it doesn’t take long for Galvanax to start sending his champion warriors down to Earth to take them on because he still wants that Ninja Steel. The Power Rangers battle it out with each individual alien invasion and also learn how to activate all kinds of massive Zords to help them in their fights against their enemy. They also meet up with some trusty allies along the way, one in particular is Princess Viera and her Lion Fire Zord who comes in extremely helpful in battle. The Power Rangers ultimately do battle with Galvanax and when they find a way to finally defeat their alien enemy, they’re also able to release the master ninja who sacrificed himself years earlier and this also becomes a happy family reunion for his two sons.

The packaging comes with a slipcover/o-card. The 3-DVD set includes a printed excerpt from Boom! Studios’ 25th-Anniversary Artist Tribute Book and feature all-new box art exclusive to the home entertainment release by illustrator and comic artist George Caltsoudas. The back includes series details, more artwork, episode listing and specs. Each disc also features some matching artwork. Inserting each disc, the menu screen was simple and easy to navigate. The picture and sound quality for this standard-definition release were really good. I didn’t have any issues with the video and audio for this release.

Bottom line is, Power Rangers Ninja Steel: The Complete Season was another action-packed season that offered up something a little different this time around. Can you believe this series is now in its 25th season?! Anyway, it’s all the same formula used here that introduces a group of teenagers who end up becoming Power Rangers that have to fight against the latest alien threat. This season featured some extremely goofy looking alien designs but that’s all part of this long-running series’ charm. I got a kick out of the whole reality series/game show concept that had each alien competing to see if any of them could defeat the Power Rangers. Just like previous seasons, each Power Ranger gets their fair share of screen time and at least one episode that focuses on them individually. Last but not least are the Zords and this season featured a lot of them but just like the aliens, some of the designs looked really silly. The series is as cheesy as it gets but it’s still entertaining after all these years and good innocent fun for kids of all ages. Power Rangers Ninja Steel: The Complete Season will be available on a 3-disc DVD set on August 14th. It’s Morphin Time!

Distributor: Lionsgate Home Entertainment

Run Time: 3 Discs / 20 Episodes / Approx. 495 Minutes

Disc One:

  • “Return of the Prism”
  • “Forged in Steel”
  • “Live and Learn”
  • “Presto Chango-O”
  • “Drive and Survive”
  • My friend, Redbot”
  • “Hack Attack”

Disc Two: 

  • “Gold Rush”
  • “Rocking & Rolling”
  • “The Ranger Ribbon”
  • “Poisonous Plots”
  • “Family Fusion”
  • “Ace and the Race”
  • “The Royal Rival”

Disc Three: 

  • “The Royal Rumble”
  • “Monkey Business”
  • “The Adventures of Redbot”
  • “Abrakandanger!”
  • “Helping Hand”
  • “Galvanax Rises”

Rated: Not Rated

DVD Video: 16×9 Widescreen Presentation (1.78:1)

DVD Audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1 / French and Spanish Dolby Digital 2.0

Subtitles: N/A

Special Features: There aren’t really any extras but the Halloween and Christmas specials are included on the third disc.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

There are no comments, yet.

Why don’t you be the first? Come on, you know you want to!

Leave a Comment