DVD Review: Muppet Babies: Time To Play!

Muppet Babies: Time To Play! features the voice talents of Matt Danner as Kermit the Frog; Melanie Harrison as Piggy; Dee Bradley Baker as Animal; Ben Diskin as Gonzo; Eric Bauza as Fozzie Bear; Jessica DiCicco as Summer Penguin; and Jenny Slate as Miss Nancy. The series is executive produced by Tom Warburton and the supervising director is Matt Danner. The songs are written by Andy Bean and composed by Keith Horn.

Almost 30 years after the Muppet Babies first won the hearts of kids and families around the world, Disney Junior’s reimagined “Muppet Babies” chronicles the hilarious playroom antics of a young Kermit the Frog, Piggy, Fozzie Bear, Gonzo and Animal – plus a brand-new Muppet Baby, Summer Penguin. Under the watchful eye of Miss Nanny, the Muppet Babies use their imaginations to embark on countless adventures that take them to the farthest corners of the universe and demonstrate to young viewers the power and potential of imaginative play. Muppet Babies Make Their Dreams Come True!

The front of the packaging features the artwork you see at the top of the page and the back includes series details, some images and specs. The DVD disc is plain white and only features the series logo. Inserting the disc, the menu screen was simple and easy to navigate. The picture and sound quality for this standard-definition release were really good. I didn’t have any issues with the video and audio.

Bottom line is, Muppet Babies: Time To Play! is definitely geared towards a much younger audience that’s sure to get a kick out of it. This new reimagining of Disney’s classic animated ‘toon from the 80’s brings back some of the lovable characters and the playroom where their adventures and sing alongs take place. There’s nothing greater than a child’s imagination and Muppet Babies reminds us big kids of that while it entertains a whole new generation. The innocent stories are all about overcoming fears, friendship as well as sharing and caring that’s brought to life by some computer generated animation.This reimagining doesn’t come close to the magical original series but it still makes for a grand ole time and entertaining children’s programming.  Muppet Babies: Time To Play! will be available on DVD on August 14th.

Distributor: Disney

Run Time: Approx. 92 minutes (not including bonus)

  1. Sir Kermit the Brave
  2. Animal Fly Airplane
    Super Fabulous vs. Captain Icecube
  3. Piggy’s Time Machine
    The Great Muppet Sport-A-thon
  4. You Say Potato, I Say Best Friend
  5. Fly South

Bonus Episodes: 10 “Muppet Babies: Show & Tell” Shorts and 6 Music Videos!

Rated: TV-Y (US)

DVD Video: Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1 Widescreen (Enhanced for 16×9 Televisions)

DVD Audio: English Dolby Digital 2.0 / Spanish Dolby Digital 2.0

Subtitles: English Line 21 / English SDH, French and Spanish

Extras: 2 Bonus Episodes –

  • How Kermit Got His Groove/One Small Problem
  • Playground Pirates/The Blanket Fort

10 “Muppet Babies: Show & Tell” Shorts –

  1. Kermit’s Show and Tell
  2. Piggy’s Show and Tell
  3. Fozzie’s Show and Tell
  4. Gonzo’s Show and Tell
  5. Summer’s Show and Tell
  6. Animal’s Show and Tell
  7. Kermit and Piggy’s Show and Tell
  8. Kermit and Fozzie’s Show and Tell
  9. Piggy and Gonzo’s Show and Tell
  10. The Great Muppet (Short) Musical

6 Music Videos –

  1. “What’s So Scary About The Dark?”
  2. “Never Have To Say Goodbye (To The Summer)”
  3. “Get Back In The Game”
  4. “Good Things Come To Those Who Wait”
  5. “You Can Be A Dancer”
  6. “Muppet Pirate Shanty”



Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

There are no comments, yet.

Why don’t you be the first? Come on, you know you want to!

Leave a Comment