DVD Review: Manifest: The Complete First Season

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the DVD I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own.

From Robert Zemeckis and executive producers Jeff Rake, Jack Rapke, Jackie Levine and Len Goldstein. Manifest stars Melissa Roxburgh, Josh Dallas, Athena Karkanis, J.R. Ramirez, Luna Blaise, Jack Messina and Parveen Kaur. The series is produced by Jeff Rake Productions and Compari Entertainment in association with Warner Bros. Television and Universal Television.

Flight 828 Disappeared in 2013. Today, it Came Home. A plane inexplicably disappears on a trans-oceanic flight and returns five years later after being presumed lost at sea. While no time has passed for those on the flight, years have gone by for their loved ones who have learned to live with their loss. In addition to the outward mystery of what happened on that flight, there’s also an inward mystery of what has happened to the passengers…and why. Nothing will ever be the same as you follow the unexpected journey full of hope, heart and destiny.

Montego Air Flight 828 disappears and all of a sudden shows back up five years later like nothing happened. The passengers aren’t aware of any time difference at first but their families and friends have thought they were all dead since this mysterious incident. The plane hit some turbulence but the crew and passengers didn’t think much about the routine bumps because it was such a brief experience and not out of the ordinary. What happens is, everyone is reunited with their families and friends but things have changed since this strange event took place and some people have moved on with their lives while others have died. It’s an awkward situation for some, especially the Stone family. which the plot centers around.

It also appears that the passengers have acquired some new special abilities, like predicting a tragedy before it happens and being able to stop it, while others might feel the pain that certain people are going through. There’s really something special about young Cal. There’s even some others that have experienced the same kind of event who were never even on the plane. It all comes down to trying to fit in and figuring out what actually happened but while they’re doing this some sinister figures are introduced. These are the type of people who want answers even if it means killing and experimenting on these innocent passengers to get them. One thing is for certain, something did happen to Montego Air Flight 828 but nobody knows what it was. It’s all connected, whatever that means.

The packaging comes with a slipcase. The front features the artwork you see at the top of the page and the back includes series details, some images and specs. There’s also an insert inside that includes a list of the episodes with short synopsis and air dates. The four DVD discs also include some etched artwork and series logo. Inserting the disc, the menu screen was simple and easy to navigate. The picture and sound quality for this standard-definition release were really good. I didn’t have any issues with the video and audio.

Bottom line is, I went into Manifest not knowing anything about it or how I’d like it since it’s more of a suspense-filled drama with some supernatural elements thrown in but I have it admit that it drew me in and I really enjoyed the first season. The writing is extremely smart because the stories for each episode and what all these characters are going through is so thought-provoking. The cast also does a great job with these interesting characters. This supernatural drama is more character and story driven so it doesn’t depend much on special effects but there are a few thrown in here and there to help with the storytelling and it all looked good. There’s even some stunts and a little action to go along with that. We’ve all heard about missing flights in the news and what Manifest does is simply give this hot topic a mysterious what if scenario and it’s really well executed. Manifest: The Complete First Season will be available on a 4-disc DVD set on July 23rd.

Distributor: Warner Bros. Home Entertainment

Run Time: 4 Discs / 16 Episodes / 683 Minutes

  1. Pilot
  2. Reentry
  3. Turbulence
  4. Unclaimed Baggage
  5. Connecting Flights
  6. Off Radar
  7. S.N.A.F.U.
  8. Point of No Return
  9. Dead Reckoning
  10. Crosswinds
  11. Contrails
  12. Vanishing Point
  13. Cleared for Approach
  14. Upgrade
  15. Hard Landing
  16. Estimated Time of Departure

Rated: Not Rated

DVD Video: Widescreen

DVD Audio: English Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles: English

Special Features: N/A

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

There are no comments, yet.

Why don’t you be the first? Come on, you know you want to!

Leave a Comment