DVD Review: LEGO DC Super Hero Girls: Super-Villain High

Warner Bros. Home Entertainment provided me with a free copy of the DVD I reviewed in this Blog Post. The opinions I share are my own.

LEGO DC Super Hero Girls: Super-Villain High was directed by Elsa Garagarza from a script by Jeremy Adams and returns its core cast with Grey Griffin (Wonder Woman), Tara Strong (Harley Quinn/Poison Ivy), Anais Fairweather (Supergirl), Teala Dunn (Bumblebee), Stephanie Sheh (Katana) and Ashlyn Selich (Batgirl). The cast also includes Yvette Nicole Brown (Amanda Waller), Greg Cipes (Beast Boy), Romi Dames (Lena Luthor), John DiMaggio (Gorilla Grodd, Wildcat), Josh Keaton (The Flash), Khary Payton (Cyborg) and Meredith Salenger (Lashina). Rick Morales serves as producer, with Sam Register, Jill Wilfert and Robert Fewkes serving as executive producers.

Everyone’s favorite female Super Heroes are left to deal with a new rival when a mysterious high school pops up. After a mysterious school opens across the street, the students of Super Hero High find themselves up against a new threat. Now, Wonder Woman, Supergirl, Batgirl and the rest of the DC Super Hero Girls not only have to worry about the well-being of their grades, but the safety and security of friends, family and the rest of civilization. The girls must figure out how to put a stop to this evil, new cross-town rival and save the world once again!

LEGO DC Super Hero Girls: Super-Villain High follows the young female superheroes who go up against Lana Luthor who lures the female villains over to her own high school called Uber High that promises less homework and more fun. Lana assumes several other identies to pull this off so she can get the group of girls to help her with her sinister plot. Catwoman, Cheetah and Poison Ivy are the first to leave their old school for the new one but Wonder Woman, Supergirl and Batgirl knows there’s something isn’t right so they start an investigation that leads them to the truth. Through a little bickering and backstabbing, the Super Hero Girls work together to stop Lana Luthor’s evil plan and end up getting their villainous frenemies back over to their old high school where they belong. Good ultimately defeats evil but Lana Luthor finds a way to escape the battle in the end.

The packaging comes with a slipcover. The front features the artwork you see at the top of the page and the back includes movie details, an image and specs. The DVD disc features some etched artwork and the brand logo. Inserting the disc, the menu screen was simple and easy to navigate. The picture and sound quality for this standard-definition release were really good. I didn’t have any issues with the video and audio.

Bottom line is, LEGO DC Super Hero Girls: Super-Villain High was another fun entry into this new animated franchise that puts some of DC’s most popular female superheroes and villains in the forefront. The interesting story was about teamwork and the characters where all fun to follow plus there was some comedy to go along with them. These characters were developed with girls 6-12 in mind and delivers exciting storylines featuring strong females that embraces and celebrates girls as they discover their own unique abilities. This animated franchise also encourages young girls and kids to explore their own powers and strengths. The animation style is great and looks a little different from the other DC properties that have gotten the LEGO treatment. This second installment in the LEGO DC Super Hero Girls franchise from Warner Bros. Animation, DC Entertainment and The LEGO Group will be available on DVD on May 15th and will make a great watch for the kiddos.

Distributor: Warner Bros. Home Entertainment

Run Time: 78 Minutes

Rated: Not Rated

DVD Video: Widescreen Presentation

DVD Audio: English, French and Spanish Dolby Digital 5.1

Subtitles: English SDH, French and Spanish

Special Features: The extras include six animated shorts featuring characters from the DC Super Hero Girls universe.

  1. Crazed and Confused (04:23)
  2. Need for Speed (03:08)
  3. Showdown (03:35)
  4. Trading Places (04:17)
  5. Wonder Waitress (04:12)
  6. Bodybuilding (04:20)


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

There are no comments, yet.

Why don’t you be the first? Come on, you know you want to!

Leave a Comment