Browsing all 2369 posts in Review.

0

Comic Book Review: The Anchor “Black Lips” by Phil Hester (BOOM! Studios)

Comic Book Review: The Anchor “Black Lips” by Phil Hester (BOOM! Studios)

The Anchor is back and he must pick up right where he left off—fighting his fifth fury.  Yes, the first volume was the Five Furies but he only made it up to number four.   So now his fifth fury is his special lady friend who [...]

0

Comic Book Review: Missouri Boy by Leland Myrick (First Second)

Comic Book Review: Missouri Boy by Leland Myrick (First Second)

Missouri Boy is a story that I can actually relate to and I’ve never even been to Missouri.    We start even pre-birth with twin boys and one of them being the main focus of the story.   What happens next is what it is.   

0

Comic Book Review: He Done Her Wrong by Milt Gross (Fantagraphic Books)

Comic Book Review: He Done Her Wrong by Milt Gross (Fantagraphic Books)

                This graphic novel was originally published back in 1930 and Fantagraphic Books has brought it back for our viewing pleasure.    This story is described as “the great American novel” and in that sense it is true.   It’s your classic plot of hero, villain, lovers, [...]

0

Comic Book Review: Brain Camp by Susan Kim (First Second)

Comic Book Review: Brain Camp by Susan Kim (First Second)

                When I was a kid I went to a Christian summer camp (Lakeside in Massachusetts, represent!) and I didn’t necessarily find the experience to be a bad one overall, but after reading Brain Camp I realize just [...]

0

Comic Book Review: Grandville by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)

Comic Book Review: Grandville by Bryan Talbot (Dark Horse)

                 Based on the cover alone you can tell what this graphic novel will be about.   It is a Sherlock Holmes sort of mystery disguised by the fact that the characters are all mostly rodents.  It’s like something [...]

0

Comic Book Review: Missile Mouse: Rescue on Tankium3 by Jake Parker (GRAPHIX)

Comic Book Review: Missile Mouse: Rescue on Tankium3 by Jake Parker (GRAPHIX)

I will admit that I picked this comic book up and flipped through it before actually reading it because it’s on an imprint of Scholastic, which seems to me to just scream “little kid comics”.    However, the pictures and the words are all there for [...]

0

Comic Book Review: The Anchor: Five Furies by Phil Hester (Boom! Studios)

Comic Book Review: The Anchor: Five Furies by Phil Hester (Boom! Studios)

                                When the back of this graphic novel tells you it’s for fans of The Goon and Hellboy they were not kidding.   Here is a big, monster sort of guy who fights even worse monsters whatever the [...]

0

Blu-ray Review: THE WICKER TREE

Blu-ray Review: THE WICKER TREE
2

Checking out Robin Hardy‘s THE WICKER TREE on Blu-ray, I was going in with high expectations since I’d seen his 1973 classic, The Wicker Man and really enjoyed it, so what went wrong?

0

Comic Book Review: Mutant, Texas Tales of Sheriff Ida Red by Paul Dini (Oni Press)

Comic Book Review: Mutant, Texas Tales of Sheriff Ida Red by Paul Dini (Oni Press)

                 Our story takes place in a town where a nuclear power plant idea went awry and, well, there are only a select few normal folks left while a lot of the others left are mutants—most being animal mixes, so you’ll see things like a [...]

0

Comic Book Review: Pinocchio Vampire Slayer by Van Jensen and Dusty Higgins (SLG Publishing)

Comic Book Review: Pinocchio Vampire Slayer by Van Jensen and Dusty Higgins (SLG Publishing)

              Based on events which occurred after the original Pinocchio story, we learn that Pinocchio’s father Geppeto was killed by vampires so now he has sworn an oath to kill them all off. 

0

Comic Book Review: We Kill Monsters by Christopher Leone (Red 5 Comics)

Comic Book Review: We Kill Monsters by Christopher Leone (Red 5 Comics)

                                Upon first glance at this basic story, you’re going to also find that it looks a lot like the television series Supernatural.   Two brothers fighting monsters… how important can it really be on how they got [...]

0

Comic Book Review: Garage Band by Gipi (First Second)

Comic Book Review: Garage Band by Gipi (First Second)

                This is an interesting story that seems to be geared more toward the teens than actually someone older like myself, or you know, someone of a general age with no real restraints.   A group of post high school aged kids (Though they could be [...]

0

DVD Review: Darren Lynn Bousman’s ’11-11-11′

DVD Review: Darren Lynn Bousman’s ’11-11-11′
3

11-11-11 is one of those dates in history that we all wondered if something crazy would happen or if the world would lose its mind, oh that’s already happened!  Writer/director Darren Lynn Bousman has given us his interpretation of this event and it’s done in [...]

0

Comic Book Review: Justice League International by Keith Giffen (DC Comics)

Comic Book Review: Justice League International by Keith Giffen (DC Comics)

                I’ll be the first to admit that I don’t like to make it a habit to read graphic novels under the DC or Marvel brand because, well, that’s a whole other story.   However, in this comic book itself (six issues) we flash back to [...]